"Candidate needs to be deleted" flag is part of GDPR functionalities in TalentLyft which can be found in the Candidates database as a filter. It helps you keep your candidate database GDPR compliant. Once a day, TalentLyft will check the entire candidate database and determine which candidates need to be deleted. To understand the logic behind this, see the diagram below, as it may be the best way to explain it.
Regardless of the way candidates enter the system (sourced or applied), they all go through the same "IF loop" displayed on the diagram above.
The strongest condition is a valid retention period of consent. If the candidate has given his consent for personal data retention and it has not expired, he/she will not be flagged as a "Candidate who needs to be deleted", regardless of all other conditions. So if the answer to the first question is yes, no other conditions need to be checked. If there is no valid retention period consent found on the candidate (candidate has either not given the consent or it has expired), the second condition will come into consideration.
The system checks if the candidate has any applications on active jobs. If the candidate hasn't given consent for you to keep their personal data for X months and contact him for a future job opportunity and is not currently part of any active selection process, he needs to be deleted. In this case, no other conditions need to be checked. However, if this candidate is a part of an active selection process, the third condition must be checked.
By this point, we already know the candidate does not have valid consent, and he/she is not a part of an active selection process, otherwise, this third condition would not even be taken into consideration. The inactivity period is what determines when these candidates need to be deleted. As long as the inactivity period doesn't expire, these candidates don't need to be deleted.
Reminder: Inactivity period counts from the last activity with the candidate which includes: comment, email, call, meeting, move to stage, disqualified, or reverted.
All of this is performed on a candidate, not on an application. This means that TalentLyft won't flag the candidate for deletion if he/she has at least one application that allows you to keep his/her personal data.
Whenever a position is archived in your system, TalentLyft will perform these checks on all candidates who were part of the hiring process for that position, and flag them according to the three conditions.